• S • BTBR | LIMITS

btbr copy

Setting limits can be quite the life and time saver.

I didn’t realize this until that moment came for me. I had an experience with my friends back in high school that dealt with peer pressure and around that time, some of my friends smoked weed and I was pressured to do the same. Nothing is wrong with smoking weed… in moderation, however; as a 15 year old girl. I was pressured for about three weeks then I had it and I stated the truth which was, “I don’t want to smoke weed yet.” I said. Surprisingly they respected that. Now I’m in college and in my first year I did a little bit of experimenting, I’ve smoked weed — it’s not all that haha.

What I am trying to say is, setting limits helps you worry less. No one is going to define your boundaries for you, you have to do that for yourself. Besides if you think about it, your friends can’t tell you what good or bad for you. Only you know that. However, boundaries are not set in stone, just like I was 15 and didn’t want to smoke weed and at 18 years young I decided to give it a go. Setting limits reduced the stress in your life and you will be able to have more time to do what you want to do.

Food for thought?

What are you doing in your life now that you wish you weren’t?

Are you setting limits that you are comfortable with?

What’s stopping you from changing it? 

Most likely the answer to the last question would be YOURSELF. So how can you determine what is completely awesome, terrible, weird, strange or random? How do you determine that? Simple: Your feelings. Your feelings or emotions help you determine what you think or feel about something or an event that happened and also helps you figure out if you want to be a part of that or not. If you are angry, it means that you aren’t contempt or satisfied with some things in your life or you plainly don’t like it.

To live a high quality life it’s best to listen to your emotions and to your body. Also I want to mention that saying “No” when in a situation you do not agree with is never a bad thing so do not stress over what someone else will think about you or about your answer, stand by your beliefs. I’m not saying you should turn into a massive snob however saying “No sorry, I cannot do this or that.” shows that your limit has been set.  Try not to run over people by saying no all the time, you don’t need to become a snob to set firm boundaries or limits. Simply be clear and straight about what you will or won’t tolerate and make that commitment to stick with it… until you are ready to change that limit.

Maxwell Maltz said,  “Self-image sets the boundaries of individual accomplishment.”

Doris Lessing also said, “Think wrongly if you please, but in all cases think for yourself.” 

See you next time,

Saje.

Let me know your thoughts or issues you want me to shed light on!

