B.T.B.R | Inner Sparkle!

ppjeau copy

As a young woman I find it ridiculously easy to take care of my mother, sister and brother and forget to take care of myself. Maybe it’s because I’ve done this since I was 10 years old. Even going to school on a normal basis I find it hard to find the perfect outfit. Unless I planned the night before, I basically throw it on and walk out the door. Sometimes it gets overwhelming, sometimes I feel really lost and I feel like I’m a slave in my own body. Recently I found out that I am not the only one who feels like this, I realized there are others. If you feel like you’re lost and that you help everyone else but yourself in your life. Realize one thing, you have awesomeness inside you. You are a beautiful young woman and you will not loose your spark! Here is how:

Now, like I said, it’s a busy, busy life for young ladies or women. I get that but lets not lose sight of our sparkle, or our awesomeness. Whatever word you want to call it; destiny, fate, whatever. Do not lose sight of it.

First thing to do is plan.  Find a quite space with a pen and paper. No distractions, no electronics, nothing. Sit down and ask yourself, “What am I good at? What do I like to do? What are some goals I want to accomplish especially in this new year coming up?” Think about it and then write it all down! EVERYTHING!

Prior to this post, I made a post about writing goals, make sure your goals are achievable, reasonable, measurable, specific and timely. Don’t write long term goals, if you have long term goals turn them into short term goals. 

Secondly, take a break from the workaholic lifestyle! Relax more so you can breathe and think about your next steps. Life is not all about hustling and bustling. Sometimes you just need to relax take a glass of red wine or if you are like me, make a Bailey’s shake. Rent a movie, get pampered, or even just laying in bed to THINK is sufficient enough! Do anything that doesn’t involve excess bodily activity that leads to stress. Taking a break of any kind will help you build your self-esteem! 

Lastly, remember that mistakes are okay! Learn from your mistakes or the mistakes of others instead of sulking over it. Ask yourself, “What did you do that caused the mistake? How did you realize it was a mistake? How did you feel afterwards?” Take notes. Think of mistakes as great teachers. Learn from your mistakes and you’ll be more knowledgeable and better prepared next time!

In cases like this, all it takes is time. Stop. Sit. Process. Think about everything, even if it means taking an our or two out of your busy day. Believe me, it goes a long way. Take care of yourself emotionally and physically and people will take notice. It will make you happier, healthier, and more grounded. Life is full of endless tasks that includes school, work, and home tasks, but NEVER forget about yourself. Take care of you before anything else. After all if you fall ill in any way, who else will take care of the things or people you have to care for?

STSY

Let me know your thoughts or issues you want me to shed light on!

