A cup of Jeau ft. Kalifornia

Today I got the pleasure of meeting and talking to Kalifornia on her latest “Vita EST 2014 SS14” Collection that she just newly released. I got to know a bit about her as a person and a lot about her come back, she has been on a hiatus for quite a while but we’re going to go a  bit inept as to why, also I learned a bit on her muses and how she is in-cooperating them into her new catalog. Without a waste of time let’s begin:

CUPOFJEAUft.kalifornia

(Kalifornia {Ashly} is in black, I am in colored to clear up any confusions)

Tell me a bit about your background and yourself?
My name’s Ashly, I am a sophomore in high school and I live in NY. I started developing on IMVU 2 years ago and was at first very inspired by Andy Warhol, Nicki Minaj and icons who are well known for their uses of color but after I came back from my break I’ve become more inspired by designers such as Alexander Wang, Karl Lagerfeld, Diane von Furstenberg and Donatella Versace.

What led you into becoming an IMVU fashion designer?
I started designing on IMVU because I felt there was some stuff missing on IMVU that I wanted to see in the catalog I basically started developing for myself and my friends, making customs for people.

Who are your favorite designers on IMVU?

Pierce, Chyere, Stussy, MissC, Partition

So you were on a long hiatus what caused you to take a break?
I started focusing on school and my real life, and I felt like I’ve done everything I ever wanted to do on IMVU and IMVU was taking a bit of a toll in my real life, I was submitting every day and my schoolwork was being neglected.

So now that you’re back from your hiatus and you’re pumped with all these new muses (inspirations), should the fashion community on IMVU be expecting something very new and different in your new catalog/collection?
Yes, I have some big things planned with some other amazing developers on IMVU for this summer along with much collaboration and new collections.

Now on to your fashion show, how big was the preparation for it? Could you give me an insight on what steps you had to take to get to this point?
I started preparing for my fashion show a month in advance. The show occurred on April 18th; where one was invite only and the other was that you would have to sign up for it on the group pages. It was a very long process but I got a majority of the work finished during spring break which was really a drag because my friends would just pop in uninvited and basically kidnap me to go out.

tot

Jeans or Sweat Pants: Jeans
Scarves or Hats: Hats
Studs or Dangling Earrings: Studs
Necklaces or Bracelets: NECKLACES
Heels or Flats: Heels
V-necks or Crew necks: V-necks
Straight or Curvy: Straight
Alexander Wang or Donatella Versace: Donatella Versace

Don’t forget to visit KALIFORNIA (First letter capital when you search her.) catalog.

2ag3rme.jpg

jj

 

Let me know your thoughts or issues you want me to shed light on!

